AHTF 2023 Happy Hour With a Scholar Recap

Dr. David Green, AHTF’s 2023 Honored Scholar

The American Hand Therapy Foundation held its biggest fundraiser of the year, the 2023 “Happy Hour with a Scholar” event.  The event was held in conjunction with the ASHT Annual Meeting on Friday, September 29, 2023, at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio, TX.

It is with great privilege that we were able to honor San Antonio native, Dr. David Green, as this year’s honored speaker. He has been referred to as “Hand Surgeon to the World.” Amongst his many accomplishments, he is a founder of the San Antonio Hand Center, and the first surgeon in San Antonio to devote his entire practice to the hand and upper extremity. He has a passion for teaching and mentorship and he gave an inspiring talk that was titled “On The Shoulders of Mortals.” He spoke about different teaching and learning styles and talked about the importance of being humble mentors. He gave many examples of great teachers and mentoring styles.

The event was well attended and a huge success! The AHTF Board of Directors would like to thank North Coast Medical for underwriting AHTF’s signature fundraising event as well as our many co-sponsors, partners and attendees for their generous support. We look forward to hosting the 2024 “Happy Hour with a Scholar” and welcome Co-Sponsors (this can be an individual, a combination of individuals, a special interest group, business, university, or association) for 2024!

Event Photo Gallery

click photos to enlarge

Underwriting Sponsor

North Coast Medical & Rehabilitation Products

Scholar Circle

Dorit Aaron, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Barbara Winthrop, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Hand Therapy Association of California

Research Circle

American Association for Hand Surgery (AAHS)
Commonwealth Hand & Physical Therapy,
Lexington, Kentucky
Greg Pitts, CEO
American Society for Surgery of the Hand (ASSH)
Hospital for Special Surgery
Hand Therapy Society of Greater Los Angeles
Hand Therapy Certification Commission
Jim and Beverly King
Graham & Kelly Reeve
Kirk Gober

Mentor Circle

Virtual Hand to Shoulder Fellowship
Aviva Wolff

Explorer Circle

Advanced Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine
Hand Rehabilitation Foundation
Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center
Texas Society for Hand Therapy

Past Scholar Honorees:


2022 Mark E Baratz, MD

2021 Susan Mackinnon, M.D., F.R.C.S.(C), F.A.C.S

2020 Scott Kozin, MD

2019 A. Lee Osterman, MD, FAOA

2018 Joy MacDermid, BSc, BScPT, MSc, PhD

2017 Roy Meals, MD

2016 Sue Blackmore, MS, OTR/L, CHT, COMT, UL

2015 Peter Amadio, MD & Nancy Cannon, OTR, CHT

Share This