2022 Happy Hour with a Scholar Recap

Mark E Baratz, MD, AHTF’s 2022 Honored Scholar

The American Hand Therapy Foundation (AHTF) held its biggest fundraiser of the year, the 2022 “Happy Hour with a Scholar”. The event held in conjunction with the ASHT Hybrid Annual Meeting was on Friday, October 14, 2022 at the Washington Hilton in Washington DC. Jim King, OTR, PhD, CHT, Chairperson of the AHTF welcomed everyone and thanked North Coast Medical as the event’s 1st Underwriter as well all of the Co-Sponsors for their generous support of the AHTF’s signature fundraising event.

This year’s Honoree was Mark Baratz, MD, Clinical Professor and Vice Chairman of the Department of Orthopaedics at the University of Pittsburgh and Director of the Hand and Upper Extremity Fellowship. His AHTF Scholar lecture was “When I Need You Most: Surgeon-therapist challenges when patients need more and a system gives less.” Dr. Baratz began by telling the attendees that he wanted his lecture to begin a conversation and he believes it starts with the perception that every patient fits an algorithm for treatment and reimbursement. While he believes this may be true for elective cases, increasingly he sees that his clinic is filled with “Outliers”. He framed the discussion by defining the “seven deadly sins” of Outliers, including social issues that may lead to disparities in care. He discussed his philosophy of how to do more to improve patient outcomes with fewer resources and how to mitigate variability in cases.

Dr. Baratz kicked off the discussion portion of his lecture by singing a song he wrote for the attendees while playing his guitar. He was interested in hearing about the challenges that hand therapists face every day and their vision of what was needed. , This led to a good, interactive discussion.

The lecture was well attended and became a record-breaking fundraising event! The AHTF Board of Directors looks forward to hosting the 2023 “Happy Hour with a Scholar” and welcomes Co-Sponsors (examples of Co-Sponsors may be an individual, a combination of individuals, a special interest group, business, university, or association) for 2023!

Watch Dr. Baratz’s 2022 Scholar Lecture

We hope you enjoyed Dr. Baratz’s lecture. In order for the AHTF to continue to provide funding for scientific research and education that supports patient outcomes by promoting evidence-based practice, we welcome your donation!

Event Photo Gallery

click photos to enlarge

Thank You to The AHTF 2022 “Happy Hour With a Scholar” Co-Sponsors

Underwriting Sponsor

North Coast Medical & Rehabilitation Products

Principal Investigator

Hand Therapy Association of California

Scholar Circle

Dorit Aaron, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Barbara Winthrop, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Hand Therapy Association of Greater Los Angeles

Academic Circle

Martha Freeman

Kirk Gober, OTR, MOT, CHT

Research Circle

American Association for Hand Surgery (AAHS)

Commonwealth Hand & Physical Therapy,
Lexington, Kentucky
Greg Pitts, CEO

American Society for Surgery of the Hand (ASSH)

Hospital for Special Surgery

Select Physical Therapy/Hand Therapy NovaCare Rehabilitation/Hand Therapy

Scott Wolfe, MD

Hand Therapy Certification Commission

Graham & Kelly Reeve

Mentor Circle

American Occupational Therapy Foundation

Desert Hand and Physical Therapy



Tracy Stein

Virtual Hand to Shoulder Fellowship

Explorer Circle

Advanced Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine


Hand Rehabilitation Foundation

Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center

Texas Society for Hand Therapy

Gretchen Bachman, OTD, OTR/L, MBA/HCM, CEAS, CHT

Kim McVeigh, MBA, OTR/L, CHT

Sue Michlovitz, PT, PhD, FAPTA

Aviva Wolff

“Partner” of AHTF

Dorit Aaron, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Nora Barrett, MS, OTR/L, CHT

Marc Bartholdi

Kendyl Brock Hunter, OTR/L, CHT

Sean Clancy, OTR/L, CHT

April Cowan

Missy Donnell

Caroline W Jansen

Jim King, OTR, PhD, CHT

Linda Klein, OTR, CHT

Marsha Lawrence


Alexandra MacKenzie

Kimberly Masker, OTD, OTR/L, CHT

Brittany Mitchell

Marisol Monasterio, OTR, MOT, CHT

Suparna Mukherjee

Tiffany Nguyen, OTR, OTD

Gary Solomon, MBA, MS, OTR/L, CHT

Donna Breger Stanton

Barbara Winthrop, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Terri Wolfe

Special Thanks to ASHT for In-Kind Support

Past Scholar Honorees:


2021 Susan Mackinnon, M.D., F.R.C.S.(C), F.A.C.S

2020 Scott Kozin, MD

2019 A. Lee Osterman, MD, FAOA

2018 Joy MacDermid, BSc, BScPT, MSc, PhD

2017 Roy Meals, MD

2016 Sue Blackmore, MS, OTR/L, CHT, COMT, UL

2015 Peter Amadio, MD & Nancy Cannon, OTR, CHT

Share This