2021 Happy Hour with a Scholar Recap

Susan Mackinnon, M.D., F.R.C.S.(C), F.A.C.S., the AHTF’s 2021 Honored Scholar

The American Hand Therapy Foundation held the annual “Happy Hour with a Scholar” event in conjunction with the ASHT Hybrid Annual Meeting on Friday, October 8, 2021 at the Marriott St. Louis Grand Hotel in St. Louis, MO.

Jim King, OTR, PhD, CHT, Chairperson of the AHTF welcomed the in-person and virtual attendees and thanked the AHTFs Co-Sponsors for their generous support of the AHTF’s signature fundraising event.

This year’s Honoree was Susan Mackinnon, M.D., F.R.C.S.(C), F.A.C.S., the Minot Packer Fryer Professor of Plastic Surgery in the Washington School of Medicine and Chief of the Department of Plastic Surgery from 1996-2020.

Her Scholar lecture was “No Crying in Innovation” which reviewed how major paradigms in nerve surgery have shifted from nerve repairs to grafting to transfers. Dr. Mackinnon described her translational research in the context of dissemination and implementation science. She reviewed how major paradigms in nerve surgery have shifted from nerve repairs to grafting to transfers. As well, Dr. Mackinnon discussed how diffusion of information occurs and how education and outreach can encourage the dissemination and implementation of surgical innovation in nerve surgery. Specifically, in the lecture, she covered the supercharge nerve transfer from basic science research to being performed in practice by early adaptors.

The lecture was well attended and became a record-breaking fundraising event! The AHTF Board of Directors look forward to hosting the 2022 “Happy Hour with a Scholar” in Washington DC on October 14th. We welcome Co-Sponsors (this can be an individual, a combination of individuals, a special interest group, business, university, or association) for 2022!

Event Photo Gallery

click photos to enlarge

Thank You to The AHTF 2021 “Happy Hour With a Scholar” Co-Sponsors

Principal Investigator

Aaron & Winthrop Hand Therapy Services, Inc

Hand Therapy Association of California

Scholar Circle

Rebecca Neiduski, PhD, OTR/L, CHT
Dean of the School of Health Sciences
Professor of Health Sciences

Academic Circle

Graham and Kelly Reeve

North Coast Medical, Inc

Research Circle

Peter Amadio, MD

Kirk Gober, OTR, MOT, CHT

American Association for Hand Surgery (AAHS)

Commonwealth Hand & Physical Therapy,
Lexington, Kentucky
Greg Pitts, CEO

Hospital for Special Surgery

Mentor Circle

Desert Hand and Physical Therapy

Hand Therapy Academy

Hand Therapy Certification Commission (HTCC)

Explorer Circle

Advanced Orthopaedics & Sports Medicine

Georgia Hand & Upper Extremity Special Interest Group

Hand Rehabilitation Foundation

Indiana Hand to Shoulder Center

Texas Society for Hand Therapy

“Partner” of AHTF

Dorit Aaron, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Gretchen Bachman, OTD, OTR/L, MBA/HCM, CEAS, CHT

Nora Barrett, MS, OTR/L, CHT

Jane Bear-Lehman, PhD, OTR/L, FAOTA, FNAP

Sue Blackmore, MS, OTR/L, CHT, COMT, UL

Donna Breger-Stanton, OTD, OTR/L, FAOTA

Kendyl Brock Hunter, OTR/L, CHT

Sean Clancy, OTR/L, CHT

April Cowan, OTR, OTD, CHT

Mike Epstein, MD

Lynnlee Fullenwider, OTR/L, CHT

Cindy Ivy, OTD, OTR/L, MEd, CHT

James King, OTR, PhD, CHT

Linda Klein, OTR, CHT

Keri Landrieu, LOTR, CHT

Marsha Lawrence, PT, DPT, CHT

Kimberly Masker, OTD, OTR/L, CHT


Kim McVeigh. MBA, OTR/L, CHT

Marisol Monasterio, OTR, MOT, CHT

Missy Moscoe, OTR, CHT

Tiffany Nguyen, OTR, OTD

Rachel Pigott, MPH, OTR/L, CHT

Greg Pitts, OTD, OTR/L, CHT

Rasa Poorman, OTR/L, CHT

Ann Porretto-Loehrke, PT, DPT, CHT, COMT, CMTPT

Mayra Saborio, PT,DPT,CHT

Gary Solomon, MBA, MS, OTR/L, CHT

Karol Spraggs-Young, OTD, OTR/L, CHT

Juliet Steffe, OTD, OTR/L, CHT

Caroline W Stegink-Jansen, PT, PhD, CHT

Patricia Taylor, MBA, PT, CHT

Barbara Winthrop, OTR, MA, CHT, FAOTA

Terri Wolfe, OTR/L, CHT

Aviva Wolff, EdD, OT, CHT

Special Thanks to ASHT for In-Kind Support

Past Scholar Honorees:


2021 Susan Mackinnon, M.D., F.R.C.S.(C), F.A.C.S

2020 Scott Kozin, MD

2019 A. Lee Osterman, MA, FAOA

2018 Joy MacDermid, BSc, BScPT, MSc, PhD

2017 Roy Meals, MD

2016 Sue Blackmore, MS, OTR/L, CHT, COMT, UL

2015 Peter Amadio, MD & Nancy Cannon, OTR, CHT

Share This